The terrors of being unemployed

Okay, lets face it. I may not be the most mature kid on the block. I may be fifteen (so most of what I write about won’t apply anyway), and my parents might argue that I already have all that I could want, but what’s been nagging me for a while now is the lack of a job.

If I could get one thing straight, it’s that the times that I act mature, I am more mature than my age. Yes, I plan for university and things like where I’ll live and what I’ll do already, and I prefer the company of adults over little children (painful memories). So when my grandparents asked me if I want to work over the summer, be it at a McDonalds or a shoe store, you can imagine that it caused a landslide of questions and doubts in my life.

First of all, there is next to no chance I’ll work in the summer; Summer is for R&R, after all. And given that I visit my both grandparents who are about an hour and some apart, I won’t have the luxury of being near my place of employment every day. Not to mention that this year I spent more time on the road than sitting at home or at McDonald’s (and I don’t plan to change that next year), so potential employers will be disturbed, to say the least, by my noticeable absence not only during the school year when I go back to Canada but during the summer when I travel around Europe every second week. This year I managed to visit Amsterdam, Paris, Bulgaria, the heart of Slovakia, and a trip to Vienna is in order for this week.

So while I discovered my love for travel and expensive things, one can infer that I’ll need a lot of money to travel a lot and buy expensive things. Paris wasn’t cheap, but that was nothing. I do not plan to leave Africa, Asia, South America, Australia, or even the South Pole undiscovered. I will stand on Mount Everest. I will climb the Andes. I will see the Okavango delta, and I will learn to speak Aussie, if finances permit.

Not only travel; I have an extensive list of things I do not already have that I would like. In it are things like guitars, music, motorized vehicles, desktop computers, video games, and gold bullion. I do not plan to leave these hanging on store shelves (and in some cases Fort Knox), but only if finances permit.

But what terrifies me is that I’m not sure if those things can be realized.

Which brings me to employment, or lack thereof. I am motivated and I am capable of working in many fields already, albeit on an internship level. According to my grandparents, I can earn more over the summer from a job than I get from them as charity money (and that says a lot). But what sets me back are things like travel and school, which ruin an otherwise potentially successful life.

Wow, that was a world-class contradiction.

Jokes aside, I realize the value of education and that I can earn more from a good job than from cashiering of waitressing, so I suppose employment will have to wait. Until then, sorry Mom and Dad, I’ll remain just another drain on your credit bill.

This entry was posted in rants, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.